Senate confirms three new ambassadors, others


Reading time: 1 Minute

The Senate on Thursday confirmed three new ambassadors-designate.

Those confirmed are Christopher Chiejina from Delta State, Bukar Kolo from Yobe State, and M. A. Mabdul from Benue State.

President Muhammadu Buhari had, in November 2018, forwarded the names of the nominees seeking confirmation from the lawmakers.

The confirmations followed the consideration and adoption of the report of the committee on Foreign Affairs presented by Monsurat Sunmonu (ADC, Oyo).

Presenting the report, Sunmonu said the nominees appeared before her panel for screening as required by the Senate.

She said based on the committee’s engagement with the nominees, they were qualified to occupy the positions.

The committee, therefore, recommended that the nominees be confirmed.

The Senate also confirmed the chairman and board members of the National Bureau of Statistics (NBS) also nominated by Buhari for confirmation.
Advertise here for just #2,000

Those confirmed for the NBS board are Kabiru Nakaura (Northwest) as chairman, Akinola Bashir (South-west), Moses Momoh (South-South), Wallijoh Danladi Ahijoh (North-central), Adam Modu (North-east), and Nwafor Paul Chukwudi (South-east) were confirmed as members of the board.

Their confirmation followed the adoption of the report of the committee on national planning presented by the vice chairman of the committee, Yale Omogunwa (APC, Ondo).

After the confirmations, the Senate President, Bukola Saraki, congratulated the chairman and board of the NBS as he wished them a successful tenure.

Tropic Reporters
Tropic Reporters
Tropic Reporters is an online news platform based in Nigeria that focuses on promoting journalism from the citizens' perspectives to enhance access to credible information and clarification on basic issues and topics affecting the growth and development of our communities and other parts of Africa and the world in general. For advertisment WhatsApp/Telegram: 07066518087

Share post:




More like this

Abiodun Launches Rice Sale at Reduced Prices, Affirms Ogun’s Dedication to Workers’ Well-being

  Governor Dapo Abiodun of Ogun State has kicked off...

Gov. Abiodun Expresses Shock At Yemi Adefulu’s Death

  Ogun State Governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun has expressed shock...

Richlife Properties Introduces Affordable Housing Plans To Address Housing Deficit In Ogun, Others

Richlife Properties Limited, an estate developer, has launched affordable...

Abuja Court Sentences Two Internet Scammers to Prison

  In a recent development, the Abuja Zonal Command of...