Election: INEC declares Atiku Abubakar winner in Oyo 


Reading time: 1 Minute

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Tuesday declared Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as the winner of Saturday’s presidential election in Oyo state.

The result was announced at the National Collation Centre (ICC), Abuja, by Prof. Suleiman Abdulkareem, Vice Chancellor, University of Ilorin, who is the Collation Officer for the election in the state.

Abdulkareem said Atiku polled 366,690 votes to defeat All Progressives Congress (APC)’s candidate President Muhamadu Buhari, who scored 365,229 votes.

Mr Obadiah Mailafia of African Democratic Congress (ADC) was third with 40,830 votes.

According to Abdulkareeem, Yusuf Yabagi of Action Democratic Party (ADP) polled 25,384 votes, Omoyele Sowore, African Action Congress (AAC), 4,041 votes and Donald Duke, Social Democratic Party (SDP), 766 votes.

He said the total registered voters in the election was 2,796,542.

“A total of 905,007 voters were accredited, while total votes cast was 891,080, out of which 54,549 was rejected,” he said.

Tropic Reporters
Tropic Reportershttps://tropicreporters.com
Tropic Reporters is an online news platform based in Nigeria that focuses on promoting journalism from the citizens' perspectives to enhance access to credible information and clarification on basic issues and topics affecting the growth and development of our communities and other parts of Africa and the world in general. For advertisment tropicreporters@gmail.com WhatsApp/Telegram: 07066518087

Share post:




More like this

Federal Government Dismisses Coup Scare Report

  On Tuesday, the Federal Government categorically refuted a news...

Traders Vow to Stabilize Food Prices During Ramadan

  The Arewa Traders Association of Nigeria (ATAN) has committed...

Breaking: NLC suspends nationwide protest, extends ultimatum to FG

  The Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) has suspended its nationwide...

Hardship: Cross River workers, TUC members boycott NLC protest

  Members of Trade Union Congress, TUC, as well as...