APC clears Senate, Reps seats in Ekiti


Reading time: 1 Minute

IndependentNational Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Prince Dayo Adeyeye of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) as the winner of Saturday’s election conducted in the Ekiti South Senatorial District.

INEC’s Returning Officer, Prof. Laide Lawal, announced the result early hours of yesterday, in Ikere.

While Adeyeye scored 77,621 votes, the candidate of the opposition People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Biodun Olujimi polled 53,741 votes.

Apart from the APC and PDP, the other parties that participated in the election were Democratic Alliance (DA), Green Party of Nigeria (GPN), People’s Party of Nigeria (PPN), NAC and others

The APC candidate won five out of the six local councils that make up the senatorial district. In Ekiti South West council, APC polled 11,143, while PDP polled 9,907, in Emure Local Government Area, APC polled 9,065 while PDP polled 6,245 and in Gbonyin council, APC polled 13,534 while PDP polled 8,093. In Ikere council, APC polled 14,937, while PDP polled 12,141. In Ise/Orun council, APC polled 15,892, while PDP polled 3,938.

Similarly, INEC’s Returning Officer, Prof. Sunday Abayomi Fasina, declared Adetunmbi of the APC the winner of the Ekiti North senatorial district poll.

Adetunmbi polled 60,689 votes to defeat the incumbent, Duro Faseyi of the PDP who recorded 49,209 votes.

However, APC candidates in both Ekiti South constituency 1 and Ekiti North constituency II, Yemi Adaramodu and Olarewaju Ibrahim were declared winners with  wide margins, respectively.

Adaramodu emerged winner with 41,864 as against the PDP candidate, Segun Adekola, who polled 24,707, while Ibrahim polled 29,388 votes against the PDP flag-bearer who garnered 23,684 votes.

– Sun

Tropic Reporters
Tropic Reportershttps://tropicreporters.com
Tropic Reporters is an online news platform based in Nigeria that focuses on promoting journalism from the citizens' perspectives to enhance access to credible information and clarification on basic issues and topics affecting the growth and development of our communities and other parts of Africa and the world in general. For advertisment tropicreporters@gmail.com WhatsApp/Telegram: 07066518087

Share post:




More like this

Ogun Opposition Vows to Resist Governor’s Move to Extend LG Tenure

  Opposition parties in Ogun State, under the Inter-Party Advisory...

Palliatives Not Enough, Nigerians Tell Tinubu, Demand Solution to Food Scarcity

  Nigerians have urged President Bola Tinubu's administration to declare...

Channels TV Debunks Rumors of Seun Okinbaloye’s Sack, Confirms He’s on Vacation

  Contrary to earlier reports on some news platforms, Channels...

Facebook, WhatsApp Fined $220m by Nigerian Government for Data Misuse

  The Federal Government has fined Meta Platforms $220 million...